Bergen, Norway

by Sigfrid López

Bergen is a city and municipality in Hordaland on the west coast of Norway. As of 10 March 2014, the municipality had a population of 272,000 and the Greater Bergen Region had a population of 399,700, making Bergen the second-largest city in Norway. The municipality covers an area of 465 square kilometres (180 sq mi) and is located on the peninsula of Bergenshalvøyen.

The city centre and northern neighbourhoods are located on Byfjorden and the city is surrounded by mountains. For this reason, Bergen is known as the city of seven mountains. Many of the extra-municipal suburbs are located on islands. Bergen is the administrative centre of Hordaland and consists of eight boroughs—Arna, Årstad, Åsane, Bergenhus, Fana, Fyllingsdalen, Laksevåg and Ytrebygda.

(Visited 203 times, 1 visits today)